jump to navigation

July 18, 2007

Posted by Sparkel in Uncategorized.
trackback

There’s no change yet with my grandmother…she’s still in a coma.  The doctors are giving her another 48 hours, so…that will be that. 

I went to my parents yesterday to look through photo albums, and I came across some pictures of my parents when they first got together.  My mom made this page that had pictures from the outside of their first apartment together, and some pictures of them smiling with their arms around each other.  She also put the same quote on the page that I’ve put in my profile and other random “info” sections, which was so strange.  It’s rare that I find something that makes me think my mom and I have things in common, and I wasn’t expecting that one.

I also found a photo from like, 30 years ago of my grandmother on my dad’s motorcycle.  He’s standing next to her, holding the bike up, and they’re both laughing at the camera.  It’s such a sweet picture, and it so perfectly captures her and their relationship.  I took it and made two 5 x 7 enhanced copies of it (one for me, one for my dad) and went to Things Remembered today to get a frame and “No Ordinary Mom” engraved on the bottom.  I also found this really sweet card at Hallmark the other day, and put them both in a gift bag, and M and I brought it to my dad tonight. He cried when he read the card, then again when he saw the photo.  We talked for a while, and he seems to be doing okay.  About as well as can be expected.

Last night Jess and her family brought me roses and Starbucks, which was so sweet.  M brought me flowers and these super delicious orange sherbert things today.  Everyone at work has been so supportive and sweet.  The most touching thing happened today.  I’ve been feeling like I’m in a fog…just really out of it, and not really wanting to talk to anyone.  One of my closest friends, Anna, works with me, and she and I were having lunch today.  She asked me how my grandmother is doing, and I started going into detail about how I’m feeling about my dad, and how sad it all is right now.  I began to cry while I was talking, and after a couple minutes I heard her sniffle, and I looked up and she was crying too.  I’m not sure exactly why, but it meant so much to me.  I felt like she was right there, sad with me, and it was the most comforting thing.  The only person who has cried with me is my dad, but I feel horrible crying in front of him, cause I think it just makes him more sad.  In a strange way, her crying with me was exactly what I didn’t know I needed. 

I feel so lucky to have a  great dad I’m so close to, a sweet boy to lean on, wonderful friends who are there for me, and a grandmother who is so hard to say goodbye to. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

