jump to navigation

Dreams August 13, 2007

Posted by Sparkel in realizations.
trackback

I used to dream of:

having a library in my house like the Beast in Beauty and the Beast.

spending a year traveling and working odd jobs in Europe. 

writing a novel that would bring me enough success that I would never need to work jobs I can’t stand again.

going to NYU for film school.

getting married at Lake Como in Italy.

having a group of friend that does everything together (a la Friends).

having a Starbucks in my house (a la Tommy Lee).

having one person in life who never lets you down.

So far, I’m 0 for 8.

Now I dream of being innocent and naive enough to dream things like that again.

You should have known me before, you would have loved me.
You would have loved the way I lived my life, I lived it well.
You would have loved the way I kissed the air and watched it fall
You would have loved the way I bit my lip and let it swell
You would have loved the way I’d never slouch and never crawl.
I used to take the world and swirl it in my finger
I used to dangle times and memories to linger
I used to smoke it dry and drink it ’til I was hungry
And then I’d eat it up and let it spoil inside of me
You should have known me before, you would have loved me.
There’s something about the obstacles around me,
That people try and peer through foliage to see
But no one looks and sees inside what you do,
There’s something about your eyes that see through
There’s something about my soul that draws you nearer
And you can see the way that I used to be clearer
I’m not the girl you fell in love with
Or my Mother’s baby child,
Or my Father’s knee ornament,
Or a summer breeze gone wild.

But if you’d known me then, you would have loved me

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

