jump to navigation

dieting August 23, 2007

Posted by Sparkel in The Diet.
trackback

I can’t believe I’m about to type this, but… whatev.  I am on a diet.  I’ve NEVER been on a diet, always thought they were a waste of time and perfectly good junk food, and never ever thought that I would even consider being on one.  But, I got Self magazine, and joined the “You can tone/lose weight/run better in 31 days” thing they’ve got going online, and yea…it turns out that my weight is not as average as I previously thought.  I’ve been told by doctors that I weigh a good 20 lbs more than I look like I do, probably due to the years of gymnastics I put my body through.  I went to a doctor once, and the nurse who weighed me exclaimed “wow! You must be made of solid rock! You weigh so much more than I thought you would!”  (Nice, huh?)

So, I’m biting the bullet and aiming to lose that 20 lbs that amazes doctors and puts me in the “technically 3 pounds overweight” category.  Yesterday I bid a fond farewell to my favorite foods.  No more Nerds or Reeses at work…no more grilled cheese sandwiches with 4 slices of American cheese…no more macchiatos every day…(I still plan to have them because I looked up just how many carbs/calories/fat grams are in them and yea…not half as many as there are in many, many other options) just water, then salads, then more water, then limited amounts of meat for the protein, then fruit, then water, then veggies.  All in limited amounts.  Except for the water, which I plan to practically drown myself in.  I’m also going to start going to the gym at least two mornings a week before work.  My target weight is 125, and I figure if I can get to it in two months…I’ll feel proud of myself.  And oh so sad because yea…have I mentioned I LIVE on/for sugar?

I may keep track of my daily food consumption and an exercise log just to see how much progress I’m making (and to allow those nearest and dearest to give me a not to subtle kick in the butt should I slip). 

Wish me luck!

Food Diary:
Breakfast: iced venti caramel macchiato with whipped cream and extra caramel
Lunch: Peaches and pears fruit cup & 12 oz water bottle
Snack: hardboiled egg
Dinner: chicken with beans and strawberry lemonade
Snack: another macchiato (it was my sister’s treat!)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

