jump to navigation

Death Cab September 26, 2007

Posted by Sparkel in food for thought.
trackback

I’m obsessing over this song right now.  It’s called “Brothers on a Hotel Bed” and it’s by Death Cab for Cutie.  I’m reading one of those “song meanings” sites and a lot of people think its a sad song which really surprises me.  I was driving to pick M up from school when I first heard it and I was entranced by the music (really pretty and slow) and then, like with most Death Cab songs, I was completely moved by the lyrics:

You may tire of me
As our December sun is setting
Because I’m not who I used to be
No longer easy on the eyes
But these wrinkles masterfully disguise
The youthful boy below

Who turned your way and saw
Something he was not looking for
Both a beginning and an end
But now he lives inside
Someone he does not recognize
When he catches his reflection on accident

On the back of a motorbike
With your arms outstretched, trying to take flight
Leaving everything behind
But even at our swiftest speed
We couldn’t break from the concrete
And the city where we still reside

And I have learned
That even landlocked lovers yearn
For the sea like navy men
Because now we say goodnight
From our own seperate sides
Like brothers on a hotel bed
Like brothers on a hotel bed
Like brothers on a hotel bed
Like brothers on a hotel bed

You may tire of me
As our December sun is setting
Because I’m not who I used to be

I guess I can see why it could be seen as a sad song.  But the lines

Who turned your way and saw
Something he was not looking for
Both a beginning and an end

struck me as really romantic.  They immediately reminded me of M and when we first got together.  I just broke up with one guy, began liking another who went MIA and just wanted nothing to do with relationships.  I was all “I want a cute, fun guy to hook up with, and nothing more.”  When M and I started hanging out I don’t think either of us thought it would be anything serious.  I really did turn his way and see something I wasn’t looking for, both a beginning and an end.  That line was mostly interpreted as a doomed relationship from the start, but I take it as you see the person and know “this is THE relationship, the one that will last until the end of my life.” 

This group of lyrics:

On the back of a motorbike
With your arms outstretched, trying to take flight
Leaving everything behind
But even at our swiftest speed
We couldn’t break from the concrete
And the city where we still reside

One of the people on the song meanings site wrote this, which I completely agree with:
the motorbike verse gives us the picture perfect image of youthful abandon against the idea of losing love the hardest way – to old age and fatigue.

Random blog, but this song has been in my player and on my mind for the past three days, so I just thought I’d share.  Listen to it!  It’s seriously amazingly beautiful.

I’m also really into The Postal Service and loooove this song:

Brand New Colony
I’ll be the grapes fermented
Bottled and served with the table set
In my finest suit, like a perfect gentleman

I’ll be the fire escape
That’s bolted to the ancient brick
Where you will sit and contemplate your day

I’ll be the waterwings
That save you if you start drowning
In an open tab when your judgement’s on the brink

I’ll be the phonograph
That plays your favorite albums back
As you’re lying there, drifting off to sleep

I’ll be the platform shoes
And undo what heredity’s done to you
You won’t have to strain to look into my eyes

I’ll be your winter coat
Buttoned and zipped straight to the throat
With the collar up so you won’t catch cold

I want to take you far
From the cynics in this town
And kiss you on the mouth
We’ll cut our bodies free
From the tethers of this scene
Start a brand new colony
Where everything will change
We’ll give ourselves new names
(Identities erased)
The sun will heat the ground
Under our bare feet
In this brand new colony

Everything will change

No interpretations from me though, as this song clearly needs none.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

