jump to navigation

I’m half-jobless September 30, 2007

Posted by Sparkel in work.
trackback

So…I kinda lost half of my job.  On Friday my boss informed Anna and I that he’s low on funds at the moment and therefore has no choice but to cut back on payroll.  He told us he can only afford to pay 20 hours a week between us until he settles a really big case and then we’re back to normal.  But it could take anywhere from a few days to several months.  Kinda really sucks a lot.

Anna lives at home, has no bills to speak of, and said that her dad wanted her to take a month off anyway to study for the GRE, so she very generously told me that I can take all 20 hours.  I feel really bad, but at the same time I really need the money.  Even with the 20 hours, my income just got cut in half.  I’m going to ask my Saturday job boss if I can work another day or two a week for the next month, and if my boss doesn’t have me working more hours by then I really have no choice but to find another job.

I’m bummed because I really like my job.  The work is boring, but I can choose my schedule, the pay is really great, and I work with one of my closest friends.  I really can’t ask for much better.  I looked around online for other administrative assistant jobs, and saw one posted at UMCP that pays a little more that I’m making now so I may go for that one.  This really sucks.  But I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this is extremely temporary and my boss tells us on Monday “nevermind! We settled and are back on!”  We shall see.

I could use the time to study and I have some back-up money so I should be alright.  Of course I’ll be alright.  I know I’ll find another job.  I just REALLY hope it pays as well cause I’ve spoiled myself rotten. 

Comments»

1. Bleh Part…too many to count at this point. « This little light of mine… - March 31, 2008

[…] pissed me off.  Nonchalantly mentioning that he may need to cut hours after he JUST CUT THEM a few months back made me positively seethe with […]


Leave a Reply

