jump to navigation

You know it’s bad when you roll your eyes at yourself February 13, 2008

Posted by Sparkel in annoyances, meee.
trackback

Something really random? I admire the crap out of Oprah. I’m in awe of how much that woman seems to cram into one day. She has her show, her charities, makes time to watch movies, read books, travel AND sleep. Amazing.

My biggest girl-crush is Natalie Portman. She’s been in good movies, was nominated for an oscar, AND graduated from Harvard. With a 4.0 gpa. I mean…gawd.

I always feel that there aren’t enough hours in the day. And yet, when I look back on yesterday I constantly ask “self…what did you DO yesterday?” What do I have to show for yesterday? What have I set out to accomplish that completely got done?

I can’t quite explain my mentality. For instance, there are days when I don’t go to the gym because I debate when the best time of day to shower is. I’ll wake up and think “I should go now, get the day started right. Oh no, but then I’ll either have to shower at the gym and dry my hair there, which will take forever, and I’ll miss more work time.” So I go straight to work, thinking “tonight is so much better.” I leave work and think “I’ll go for an hour before I get M! Perfect! Oh no, but the gym is so crowded after work until like 9. I’ll go after dinner.” But with M’s school schedule he usually doesn’t get home until 10, then eats, so I try to make dinner around 9. The gym closes at 11. So I go to bed cursing myself, swearing that “tomorrow I will figure out a good time and just go!”

It’s been over a week.

And the saddest (and grossest) part? Some days I don’t even make it to the shower.

I have stacks of books I want to read. Our Netflix queue is more than 100 movies that have been sitting there for a year. My room is always a mess. My friendships are neglected. I don’t sleep enough. And yet I feel like I accomplish nothing.

Oprah and Natalie? Their days seem jam-packed. When they say “there are not enough hours in the day” they MEAN it.

Today I WILL finish the book I need to read for school and I WILL hang out with a friend and I WILL go to the gym!

And if I don’t? At least I’ve accomplished mastering the art of excuses.

Comments»

1. crystall - February 13, 2008

Hahahahah awesome post. I just shower twice the days I go to the gym at lunch. Well it’s kinda convenient to have a gym and classes at lunch, so I try not to make excuses.

But! I fully BELIEVE that you will get everything done.

And you gotta understand…those kinda women have a lot of help…and they aren’t working consistently everyday, all day.

2. Julie_Gong - February 13, 2008

Natalie Portman is #1 on my girl crush list. Seriously, how do you beat her ?

3. lisachelle - February 13, 2008

i feel like i can always relate to you. i read in someone’s blog that they admire anorexics just because of their will power. i can feel that. i have to force myself to go the gym and flat iron my hair. and that usually doesn’t happen. i have no kids and i eat cereal for dinner. how does oprah do it? how did my mother do it with three kids? heck, unlike you, im not even a good excuse maker.

4. cdp - February 13, 2008

I think we all have those days we don’t make it to the shower.

Also, I’ll be home from school around 9:00 tonight. Will you make me dinner too?


Leave a Reply

