jump to navigation

Random February 26, 2008

Posted by Sparkel in random.
trackback

I had a dream the other night that I slept with a guy who works in my office. A very nice, very cool, very married guy. Now I feel weird and guilty whenever I see him which has made for some awkward conversations.

M and I saw Atonement the other night. I read the book a couple years ago, then again last week in preparation for the movie. Both are so good. I was amazed at how carefully the movie follows the book. Both hit you like a punch in the face at the end. I haven’t cried like that in a long time, just openly weeping. So, naturally I’m going to see it again tonight. I saw Titanic for the first time when I was 12. I remember I started to cry about halfway through the movie (because I read in a magazine that Jack died at the end) and literally didn’t stop until THREE HOURS after I got home. I was choking back sobs the entire walk out of the theater and to the car. It was ridiculous. But the most ridiculous part? I SAW IT FOURTEEN MORE TIMES. In the theater. I will give my prepubescent self a little credit and say that by the fifteenth viewing I had my crying limited to the last thirty minutes.

M and I talked about movies that make you cry every time you watch them after Atonement, and I couldn’t shut up for a good 20 minutes. I was all “My Girl!” “Braveheart!” “The Land Before Time!” “ET!” “Ordinary People!” “Little Women!” “Forrest Gump!!””Charlotte’s Web!” This started a conversation about “why the HELL are kids movies so sad??” Seriously, why are they? A parent always dies. Or Old Yeller? THE KID HAD TO SHOOT HIS DOG! What. the. hell??

I cry at everything though. Seriously. I cried at The Exorcist. Didn’t it seem like no one cared that the nice priest died? I wanted to slap the mom.

I’m 99% sure the barista at Starbucks forgot to put espresso shots in my macchiato. Needless to say, it tastes a little strange.

I wanna shop for spring clothes. Badly. I’m already spending my tax return in my head. Supposing I get one, that is.

Oh yeah, I also need to file my taxes this week.

And I should probably get to work. Bleh.

Ok, I was just on gchat with Anna, who is telling me all about her new job.  Her new office, that she’s getting a laptop, and she got a box full of office supplies.

My boss just casually stopped by my desk and then walked down the hall.  Then the smell hit.  Oh yes, he FARTED in front of my desk!

Life is not fair.

Comments»

1. Mike Harmon - February 26, 2008

I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

Mike Harmon

2. nicoleantoinette - February 26, 2008

I’ve so done that before, had sex dreams about the STRANGEST, most INAPPROPRIATE people. And then the next day I feel weird, almost like they KNOW I dreamed about them… Hope your day gets better!!

3. missfeebee - February 26, 2008

Hello 🙂 I came across your blog when I stumbled upon Blogging Barbie’s page. I’ve read a few of your posts…I love them. 🙂 I’ve added you to my blogroll, if you don’t mind. I’m VERY new to blogging (literally as in this past week!!)…feel free to come visit, though I admit I may seem a little “ho hum” till I get it all figured out! 🙂 Take care!
http://missfeebee.wordpress.com

4. magda - February 26, 2008

Seriously, what’s with the sad kids movies? I totally cried during My Girl. And Little Women. Really anything with death or separation, which encompasses a heck of a lot of them!

I’m with you on spending my tax refund, too. Despite the cinematic tragedy, not having to file taxes was a pretty cool benefit of childhood. Sigh.

5. Ruby - March 3, 2008

Oh I bawl my eyes out too over movies, it can be rather mortifying.

6. Angela - March 5, 2008

1. I hate it when dreams make life awkward.
2. I L-O-V-E-D Atonement. I’m going to have to read it when I’ve exhausted my current book queue.
3. I only saw Titanic once in the theatre. I think I was in 7th grade. I started crying as soon as the submarine got to the ship. I continued crying as the old woman came around, thinking “oh God! What must she have gone through!” I cried when they were boarding the ship. I cried throughout everything. Until Fabrizio died. He was in the middle of the water, doomed to die either by freezing or drowning, when he was pummeled by a smoke stack. Something about that was hilarious to me, and I busted out laughing. I think everyone else in the theatre thought I was mentally ill. And then I went on to cry for the remainder of the movie. I haven’t seen it in its entirety since.

7. cdp - March 5, 2008

Dude. How much do you late it when you have those strange dreams and then you feel all weirded out around the person? I always wonder if they can tell.


Leave a Reply

