jump to navigation

Boredom food April 9, 2008

Posted by Sparkel in random.
trackback

This may come as a shock to anyone who’s read this blog, but I don’t have the most exciting life. (You’re floored! I knew it!) I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to figure out how to curb boredom, and I spend an inordinate amount of time online. I’m a nerd, whatevs.

So, just because I feel like it, here are ten of the (many) sites that keep me entertained on a daily basis. (I’m not listing blogs because, um *ahem*…look to your right. It’s pretty clear I like a good blog.)

(I’m also going to describe the sites as if you don’t know what they are. But I hope you do cause they are AWESOME!)

1. Television Without Pity (or TWoP)
I’ve lurked and delukred at this site since it was Mighty Big TV when I was a sophomore in high school. I adore this site. I spend more time on it than pretty much anything else. It has recaps (with an inventory of many cancelled shows that are fun to go back and read). My favorite part of the site is the forums, which are of basically every show currently and formerly on TV, and a bunch of new things that have come to be since the site was acquired by Bravo. One of my favorite forums is TV Potluck. Check it out!

2. Tvgasm

Another TV recap/forum site. The main difference between this site and TWoP is the hilarity of the recaps. I have seriously choked on nerds, spit out drinks and cried to keep from laughing out loud at some of them. The funniest recapper evaaaah was B-side (who also co-founded the site.) He doesn’t do recaps there anymore, but I HIGHLY recommend reading his recaps of Laguna Beach and The Hills in the archives, or scooting on over to his blog to read new recaps of The Hills. They’re fucking hilarious.

3. Jezebel

I’d be really surprised if you don’t know this site (or the other Gawker media sites), but just in case I thought I’d put it in because I love it, and you need to too if you don’t already!

4. Stumble Upon

Okay, not technically a site (it’s a browser that you need to download), but it’s seriously amazing. The PERFECT cure for boredom. I have found so many great sites using the little stumble icon that I never would have known about otherwise, such as…

5. Musicovery

Kinda like pandora except it doesn’t limit you to the number of songs you can listen to in an hour, which is helpful if there are a string of “no”‘s. Also, every song it plans to play will show up on the screen at once, which allows you to jump around and find great new music. It’s a little redundant, but I like it anyway.

6. Quick Silver Screen

Free movies, including new releases and good older stuff. You may need to download Veoh (which is also awesome and handy), and need to put up with French or Japanese subtitles, but it’s free, and really, what beats that?

7. Tricia Sawyer and Ask Me Makeup

I have this weird obsession with watching people do makeup. Tricia Sawyer is a makeup artist who is known for doing tons of 80’s music videos and makeup for Sharon Stone, Scarlett Johansen, and Brittany Murphy (among others.) She has a makeup line and tons of how-to videos on her site for free.

I found Ask Me Makeup on youtube. This girl is INCREDIBLE (and adorable.) She makes it look so easy and offers great product tips.

8. Overheard

The two main sites are Overheard in the Office and Overheard in New York. Both are hilarious. Nuff said.

9. The Onion

This is my home page at work and on my laptop. Satirical newspaper that is so. damn. funny. And sometimes slightly offensive. But mostly hilarious.

10. Rotten Tomatoes

I dream of being one of the “cream of the crop” someday. Movie reviews and critiques gathered from websites and newspapers from all over the country, as well as movie info, trailers, interviews and cool links. Also, I’ve found it to be much more accurate than IMDB.

What are some of your favorite sites?

Comments»

1. verybadcat - April 9, 2008

Other than blogs, and news, I don’t really have any daily sites. I have my google homepage set up with RSS feeds from psychology today, cnn money, tech dirt, etc. If something looks good, I click out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

